One provider quotes KES 960 a month for a virtual server and another quotes KES 11,300 for what looks like a similar box. Both are real prices. This page explains the gap: what a VPS costs in Kenya in 2026, and how to compare two quotes without being misled by the way they are written.
The short answer: an entry-level VPS costs KES 960–2,195 a month, a mid-range 4 vCPU / 6–8 GB server costs KES 1,100–8,330, and a managed server with a cPanel or DirectAdmin licence included starts at KES 11,300. Every third-party figure below was read off the provider’s own page on 24 September 2026. Hosting prices move; re-check before you buy.
Lineserve VPS hosting in Nairobi starts at KES 2,195 a month. That is the published price for 1 vCPU, 2 GB RAM and 40 GB SSD, before VAT.
If you already know the size you want, VPS hosting in Kenya lists the plans and the live KES price list puts every size on one page. If you are still working out what to buy and what it should cost, the rest of this page is that decision.
What a VPS costs in Kenya: 2026 prices by tier
Prices as published on each provider’s own page on 24 September 2026, monthly billing, recurring rate rather than any promotional first month.
Read the VAT note before you compare these tables. Lineserve and HostPinnacle publish prices that exclude VAT, and say so. HostAfrica, Hostraha, Nescom and Servercore do not use the word “VAT” anywhere on their VPS pages, so their basis is unstated rather than inclusive. Every cell below carries the number exactly as the provider prints it. The section on VAT explains why that matters more than it sounds.
Lineserve is listed first because this is its guide. The rest follow cheapest first.
Disclosure: Hostraha is a sister brand of Lineserve. It is included because it is one of the providers Kenyan buyers compare, and its figures come from its own public pages, dated like every other provider here.
Entry tier — around 1 vCPU / 1–2 GB RAM
| Provider | Plan | Specs | Price/mo | VAT basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lineserve | Linux VPS – 2 GB RAM | 1 vCPU, 2 GB, 40 GB SSD, 1 IPv4 | KES 2,195 | Excludes VAT |
| HostAfrica | C1 | 1 vCore, 1 GB, 20 GB NVMe | KES 960 | Not stated |
| HostAfrica | C2 | 1 vCore, 2 GB, 50 GB NVMe | KES 1,600 | Not stated |
| Servercore | 1 CPU / 2 GB | 1 CPU, 2 GB | KES 2,077.48 | Not stated |
Small-business tier — around 2 vCPU / 4 GB RAM
| Provider | Plan | Specs | Price/mo | VAT basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lineserve | Linux VPS – 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 80 GB SSD, 1 IPv4 | KES 4,240 | Excludes VAT |
| Hostraha (Lineserve sister brand) | Linux VPS – 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 40 GB SSD, 2 TB | KES 2,499 | Not stated |
| HostAfrica | C4 | 2 vCore, 4 GB, 100 GB NVMe | KES 3,200 | Not stated |
| Servercore | 2 CPU / 4 GB | 2 CPU, 4 GB | KES 3,986.77 | Not stated |
Working tier — around 4 vCPU / 6–8 GB RAM
| Provider | Plan | Specs | Price/mo | VAT basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lineserve | Linux VPS – 8 GB RAM | 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 160 GB SSD, 1 IPv4 | KES 8,330 | Excludes VAT |
| HostPinnacle | SM VPS 1 | 4 Core, 6 GB, 100 GB SSD, KVM | KES 1,100 | Excludes VAT |
| Nescom | Standard | 4 vCore, 8 GB, 200 GB SSD, 200 Mbit/s | KES 3,500 | Not stated |
| Hostraha (Lineserve sister brand) | Linux VPS – 8 GB RAM | 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB | KES 4,499 | Not stated |
| HostAfrica | C5 | 4 vCore, 8 GB, 200 GB NVMe | KES 6,400 | Not stated |
That is a sevenfold spread across one tier, and it is the single most useful fact on this page. A price that far below the rest of the market is buying something different — typically a higher ratio of tenants to physical cores, so the “4 Core” on the invoice is a share of four cores rather than four cores. No page in this table states an oversubscription ratio. Ask before you buy, and get the answer in writing.
Managed, with a control panel included
| Provider | Plan | Specs | Price/mo | VAT basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HostAfrica | DA1 / CP1 | 3 vCore, 4 GB, 100 GB SSD, DirectAdmin or cPanel/WHM | KES 11,300 | Not stated |
| HostAfrica | DA3 / CP3 | 6 vCore, 12 GB, 300 GB SSD | KES 17,300 | Not stated |
| HostAfrica | DA6 / CP6 | 16 vCore, 64 GB, 500 GB SSD | KES 43,700 | Not stated |
HostPinnacle also advertises a managed VPS from KES 4,000 a month, but its page does not publish a specification or name an included control panel at that price, so it is not directly comparable to the rows above. Lineserve’s VPS plans are unmanaged root access with no cPanel or DirectAdmin option, so if a panel is what you are buying, this table is the market.
How to compare a VPS price honestly
Three things make two quotes look comparable when they are not. All three are about how the number is written rather than what the server is.
VAT is the most common comparison error
Kenya’s general VAT rate is 16%, per KRA. A price quoted excluding VAT and a price quoted including it differ by a sixth, which is larger than most of the gaps between providers in the tables above.
The practical problem is that most Kenyan hosting pages simply do not say. On 24 September 2026, the word “VAT” did not appear at all on the VPS pages of HostAfrica, Hostraha, Nescom or Servercore. Lineserve and HostPinnacle both state that their prices exclude it. Silence is not the same as inclusive — it just means you have to ask.
So convert everything to the same basis before you compare. Lineserve’s KES 2,195 plan becomes KES 2,546.20 with VAT added at checkout. HostAfrica’s KES 3,200 is KES 3,712 if it turns out to be exclusive and KES 3,200 if inclusive, and the page does not tell you which. If you are VAT-registered you reclaim it as input tax either way, but only against a valid tax invoice carrying a KRA PIN — a practical reason to buy from a locally registered entity.
Check the billing term before the price
The headline figure is often not the price you pay every month. On 24 September 2026 HostAfrica displayed its Linux VPS plans at 50% off for the first month — C1 at KES 480 rather than KES 960 — with the recurring rate shown alongside. That is clearly labelled, which is the good version of this practice. The bad version is a figure available only on a 36-month prepayment, printed in the same typeface and position as a monthly price, with the renewal rate buried in the cart.
Before you buy, confirm three separate numbers:
- The price if you pay monthly.
- The price if you pay for the full term up front, and the total cash outlay.
- The renewal price at the end of the term.
An introductory rate that triples on renewal is not a discount, it is a loan against your own switching costs. There is nothing wrong with prepaying for a genuine one — Lineserve’s annual billing is pay for 10 months and get 12, on eligible plans — as long as you know which of the three numbers you are comparing.
A shilling price is not the same as a converted one
Some KES prices are set in shillings. Others are a dollar price converted at today’s rate, which you can usually spot by the cents: Servercore’s KES 2,077.48 is not a number anyone chose, it is $11.44 at the day’s rate.
That difference compounds. A USD-denominated server is a small, permanent short position against the shilling, and you will not even pay the headline rate — you pay your card issuer’s rate plus a foreign-transaction fee, typically 2–4%, and the figure moves every month whether your traffic does or not. For a business that earns and budgets in shillings, that is unhedged currency risk on a recurring operating cost.
What actually drives the price
A VPS bill is mostly four line items. Lineserve’s Cloud Servers are priced as an explicit sum of them, which makes the arithmetic easy to see: vCPU KES 433 per month, RAM KES 306 per GB, SSD KES 25 per GB, IPv4 KES 150 each, with an IPv6 /64 free. All before VAT.
Run that on the entry plan and it reconciles exactly:
1 vCPU × KES 433 = KES 433
2 GB × KES 306 = KES 612
40 GB × KES 25 = KES 1,000
1 IPv4 × KES 150 = KES 150
─────────
KES 2,195 / month, ex VAT
Two things fall out of those rates. RAM is the expensive part — a GB of RAM costs twelve times a GB of disk — which is why plans are named after their RAM and why doubling memory roughly doubles the bill. And storage is cheap enough to over-buy deliberately: 40 GB of extra SSD is KES 1,000 a month, less than one emergency at 3am when logs fill the disk.
The fifth line item is the one that catches people out.
A control panel licence can cost more than the server
This is the biggest single budgeting error in the Kenyan market.
| Panel | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| cPanel Solo | $29.99/mo (1 account) | Cloud/VPS only |
| cPanel Admin | $35.99/mo (up to 5 accounts) | Cloud/VPS only |
| cPanel Pro | $53.99/mo (up to 30) | Cloud/VPS only |
| cPanel Premier | $69.99/mo (up to 100), +$0.49/account | Cloud/VPS only |
| CyberPanel, HestiaCP, Webmin | Free | No licence to buy |
| No panel | Free | Nginx + Certbot + systemd |
Read the first row against the price tables. A cPanel Solo licence at $29.99 a month — about KES 3,884 at the 24 September rate — costs more than an entire 1 vCPU / 2 GB server at KES 2,195. The panel is the majority of the bill.
That is the whole reason managed cPanel plans start at KES 11,300 rather than KES 1,600: you are buying a licence and a sysadmin, not a bigger box. That can be excellent value. Just know that is what you are buying — and if you are not reselling hosting or handing a GUI to non-technical clients, a free panel saves you more per year than any provider-to-provider price difference on this page.
What size do you actually need
Over-provisioning is the most common waste in this market. Start one size below your guess and scale when you have data.
| Workload | Start with | Roughly, per month |
|---|---|---|
| Brochure site or blog | 1 vCPU, 2 GB, 40 GB | KES 1,000–2,200 |
| WordPress, moderate traffic | 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 60 GB | KES 2,500–4,300 |
| WooCommerce, real catalogue | 2–4 vCPU, 4–8 GB, 80 GB | KES 3,500–8,400 |
| Node or Laravel app with workers | 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB | KES 3,500–8,400 |
| Small SaaS, early customers | 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 120 GB | KES 6,000–9,000 |
| Want someone else to run it | Managed plan with a panel | From KES 11,300 |
Two rules worth the money. Buy RAM before cores — almost every web workload, and every MySQL one, is memory-bound long before it is CPU-bound. And separate the database onto its own server before you scale a single box past 8 vCPU: a 2×4 GB app server plus a 2×8 GB database server beats one 4×16 GB server at most real workloads, and on the rates above it also costs less.
If no preset fits, sum-of-parts pricing lets you build the footprint instead. A 2 vCPU / 4 GB / 60 GB server with one IPv4 is KES 3,740 a month before VAT — cheaper than the 4 GB preset, because you are not paying for 20 GB of disk you do not want.
What a VPS costs outside Kenya
If you are asking the bare question — how much does a VPS cost, anywhere — the global reference points are cheaper in dollars. On 24 September 2026 DigitalOcean’s shared-CPU droplets were $6 a month for 1 vCPU / 1 GB, $12 for 1 vCPU / 2 GB, $24 for 2 vCPU / 4 GB and $48 for 4 vCPU / 8 GB. At an indicative interbank rate of KES 129.50 to the dollar that day, those are roughly KES 777, 1,554, 3,108 and 6,216 before card fees.
Those are real prices and they are competitive. What they do not include is a server in Kenya: DigitalOcean’s nearest regions are London, Amsterdam and Frankfurt, and it lists no African data centre. That is a latency penalty for Kenyan visitors and a currency exposure for a shilling-earning business, and it is much of why the local market prices where it does. If your users are outside Africa, buy offshore and buy it deliberately.
Providers we could not price
Truehost and Novahost are both well-known Kenyan hosts, and neither has a price above. On 24 September 2026 both sat behind a Cloudflare challenge that returned a “Just a moment…” interstitial instead of their Kenyan VPS pages. We could not read their current prices, so we are not carrying a number for either. Truehost’s international site does publish USD prices, but that is a different entity billing in a different currency, and quoting it as a Kenyan price would be wrong. Check both directly in a browser — they are worth a quote — and apply the same three questions: what is the VAT basis, what is the billing term, and what is the renewal price.
The rule this guide follows is that a price appears here only if it was read off the provider’s own live page on the stated date. Figures from a competitor’s meta description, a search summary, or last month’s version of this article are not verification.
Lineserve VPS prices in KES
The full published list. All prices are monthly and exclude VAT; 16% is added at checkout. Lineserve runs a Nairobi region, publishes a 99.9% uptime SLA, and bills in shillings by M-Pesa, bank transfer or card.
| Plan | Specs | Linux | Windows |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 GB RAM | 1 vCPU, 2 GB, 40 GB | KES 2,195 | KES 3,195 |
| 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 80 GB | KES 4,240 | KES 5,240 |
| 8 GB RAM | 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 160 GB | KES 8,330 | KES 9,330 |
| 16 GB RAM | 8 vCPU, 16 GB, 320 GB | KES 16,510 | KES 18,510 |
| 32 GB RAM | 16 vCPU, 32 GB, 640 GB | KES 32,870 | KES 36,870 |
| 64 GB RAM | 32 vCPU, 64 GB, 1,280 GB | KES 65,590 | KES 73,590 |
The Windows premium is the Windows Server 2022 Standard licence, included in the price. Linux images are free.
Lineserve is not the cheapest line on any of the grids above, and the tables say so plainly: HostAfrica’s C5 gives you more disk for less money than the Linux VPS – 8 GB RAM, and Nescom’s headline figure is under half of it. What the difference buys is a server in Nairobi, a price set in shillings rather than converted from dollars, a published SLA, and a footprint you can define rather than a preset you have to fit. Decide which of those you are paying for, then compare.
The full KES price list is the live version of this table, and VPS plans in Nairobi sets out what each size includes.
FAQ
How much does a VPS cost in Kenya? On providers’ own pages on 24 September 2026, recurring monthly prices ran from KES 960 for 1 vCore / 1 GB to KES 43,700 for a 16-core managed cPanel plan. A small-business footprint of 2 vCPU / 4 GB sits between KES 2,499 and KES 4,240 unmanaged. Managed plans with a cPanel or DirectAdmin licence included start at KES 11,300, partly because the licence alone is $29.99 a month.
How much is a VPS per month? For an entry-level unmanaged server, roughly KES 1,000–2,200 a month, or $6–$12 with an offshore provider. A typical small-business server is KES 2,500–4,300. Anything under about KES 1,000 a month is a heavily shared allocation, and anything over about KES 11,000 usually includes a control panel licence and someone else’s labour.
Why is there such a wide range for the same specifications? Because “4 vCPU” is not a standard unit. It can mean four dedicated cores or a share of four cores across many tenants, and almost no page states the ratio. The other drivers are where the machine physically sits, whether the disk is SATA SSD or NVMe, the port speed and transfer allowance, whether there is a published SLA, and whether a control panel licence is bundled.
Is VAT included in Kenyan VPS prices? Usually not, and usually not stated. On 24 September 2026 the word “VAT” did not appear on the VPS pages of HostAfrica, Hostraha, Nescom or Servercore. Lineserve and HostPinnacle state that their prices exclude it. Convert every quote to the same basis before comparing — at 16%, the adjustment is bigger than most of the gaps between providers.
What does Lineserve’s VPS cost? Lineserve VPS hosting in Nairobi starts at KES 2,195 a month for 1 vCPU, 2 GB RAM and 40 GB SSD. The 2 vCPU / 4 GB plan is KES 4,240 and the 4 vCPU / 8 GB plan is KES 8,330. All exclude VAT, which is added at checkout, and annual billing is pay for 10 months and get 12.
Is a cheap VPS worth it? Sometimes. A KES 1,100 server running a staging environment or an internal tool is excellent value, and you should not pay more for one. The same server under a production checkout flow, sharing cores with an unknown number of neighbours, is a false economy. Match the price to what breaks if the server is slow.
Should I pay monthly or annually? Annually, if the discount is real and you have checked the renewal price. Lineserve’s annual billing is 10 months for 12 on eligible plans, a genuine 17% saving. Be more careful with a 36-month prepayment advertised as a monthly rate — confirm the monthly price, the total outlay and the renewal price as three separate numbers first.
Third-party prices and specifications above were read from each provider’s own page on 24 September 2026, at the recurring monthly rate rather than any promotional first-term price. Hosting prices and tax rules change, so verify current figures before you buy. Lineserve prices exclude VAT, which is added at checkout at 16%.
